I was inspired by my friend Judy to make my own homemade applesauce. I also bought a large batch of Granny Smith apples that I intended to use for a pie at Thanksgiving, but I made pumpkin pie instead. What to do with a dozen apples? Applesauce! I’m sure there are better apples to use for applesauce, like Gala or Golden Delicious, but adding sugar and a touch of cinnamon can probably make a crappy apple into great applesauce!

Here’s a recipe I pulled off of allrecipes.com

Sarah’s Applesauce

Yield: 8 servings
Time: 30 minutes, give or take

8 apples, peeled, cored and chopped
1 1/2 cups water
1/2 cup white sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon

Directions:

In a saucepan, combine apples, water, sugar and cinnamon. Cover and cook over medium heat for 15-20 minutes or until apples are soft. Allow to cool, then mash with a fork or potato masher. Store in an airtight container in the fridge.
Tip: this comes out to be more like cinnamon applesauce, so reduce the amount of cinnamon if you’d like.
Enjoy!

If you want to know more about produce and what’s in season when, check out:
www.producepete.com

*Finished product…voila!

About marisd

I want to love well.

One response »

  1. Shannon says:

    This is also a great homeade baby food! Seth’s favorite when he was just starting out! How are you? Come on water… bet to breaking:)

Thoughts?

