I am a cake fan, in fact, I am more than just a fan, I go to weddings specifically so I can partake in the cake!! Is that so wrong of me? Maybe that’s not the main reason for going to weddings, but it is near the top of the list. I live in a house divided as Ben is not into cake. He likes chocolate-peanut butter concoctions and ice cream with those ingredients. So, I don’t usually bake cakes but when I do, I force Ben to eat it with me, and as always, after he eats it, he’ll say something like, “Honey, I’m just not a big fan of cake…next time can we make something else?”

With a resounding “BUT”, I have to tell you that the last time my parents visited us my mom brought down a cake to Manhattan that she made from a Paula Deen recipe and Ben loved it! I couldn’t believe it at first until I realized he polished off the last of the cake mom left for me to treat on…anyway, I want to make this cake as soon as the weather warms up and we have a day over 80 degrees. A nice light dinner with this cake as the dessert would be wonderful for a summer-like day sometime this spring!

Here is the recipe~

Simply Delicious Strawberry Cake

Ingredients:

* 1 (18.25-ounce) box white cake mix
* 1 (3-ounce) box strawberry-flavored instant gelatin
* 1 (15-ounce) package frozen strawberries in syrup, thawed and pureed
* 4 large eggs
* 1/2 cup vegetable oil
* 1/4 cup water

* Strawberry cream cheese frosting, recipe follows

* 1/4 cup butter, softened
* 1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
* 1 (10-ounce) package frozen strawberries in syrup, thawed and pureed
* 1/2 teaspoon strawberry extract
* 7 cups confectioners’ sugar
* Freshly sliced strawberries, for garnish, optional

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease 2 (9-inch) round cake pans.

In a large bowl, combine cake mix and gelatin. Add pureed strawberries, eggs, oil, and water; beat at medium speed with an electric mixer until smooth. Pour into prepared pans, and bake for 20 minutes, or until a wooden pick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Let cool in pans for 10 minutes. Remove from pans, and cool completely on wire racks.

For the frosting:

In a large bowl, beat butter and cream cheese at medium speed with an electric mixer until creamy. Beat in 1/4 cup of the strawberry puree and the vanilla extract. (The rest of the puree is leftover but can be used in smoothies or on ice cream for a delicious treat.) Gradually add confectioners’ sugar, beating until smooth.

Spread frosting in between layers and on top and sides of cake. Garnish with sliced fresh strawberries, if desired.

ENJOY!!

About marisd

I want to love well.

One response »

  1. bendeaver says:

    I do love that strawberry cake. Can’t wait!

Thoughts?

