I am pulling my hair out, well, not literally. It’s literally falling out. Something about my hormones cycling around four-five months after Kate’s birth…anyway, it takes cleaning the bathroom to a whole new level.

Kate is not sleeping well. I am realizing that my little chili pepper will keep me on my toes every stage she goes through! We started her on rice cereal this week, despite all of the various opinions that are out there. She seems to take to it pretty well the first few bites, but then, she is much more interested in the side of her booster chair. What is on the side of the booster chair that is so interesting, you ask? Beats me. With a bit of coaxing, I get her to eat about half of what I’ve prepared with my precious bmilk. I wish we could save the leftovers! Oh well.

So we put her down (around 7 or 7:30pm), and she is crying 45 minutes later. Ben goes upstairs, rocks her to sleep and she is up an hour later. I go in, rock her back to sleep and she is up twenty minutes later…this goes on into the wee hours of the morning! Is she still hungry?? Does she want the boob as a pacifier all night?? Does she just hate her crib and want to sleep on warm, cozy mommy?? Maybe all of the above.

I have been meaning to go to the library and check out a book that a friend recommended I read (it really helped her little one) and I have resolved to do that this week! Maybe someday I will be able to sleep for longer than a three hour stretch.

I have posted a few pics of Kate’s first rice cereal feeding experience below for your viewing pleasure.


“I’m ready! I have no idea what I’m ready for, but I’m ready!”


“mmmmmmmm”


“and, I’m done.”

If you made it this far, good! I have been super inspired lately by some great people posting to their great blogs. When Ben is in LA at the end of May, I’m going to spend some time in KC hopefully catching up with old friends, and learning how to use my grandmother’s sewing machine. My mom used to make her own clothes (didn’t know this until I was in college!!), and I’m going to use her handy skills to show me how to make some clothes for Kate!! Ben challenges me to “crown it”, so I am trying:) If you don’t know what “crown it” means, no worries. It just means to live within your means:)

More to come, soon….

ps. I need to get this for Kate for Halloween this year!

About marisd

I want to love well.

7 responses »

  1. Jenni says:

    Subtitle to this post: Maris needs more sleep. I will be praying for you guys.

  2. Majed says:

    hope she will start sleeping well again ,,

  3. bendeaver says:

    Wonderful blog post sweetie. I loved reading it. I can pick that book up for you…

  4. R.W. Shipshape says:

    Those faces!

    Challenge: Maybe you could MAKE the chili pepper costume?! Could be a good place to start because it doesn’t have to fit perfectly. Good luck!

  5. Jenni says:

    I saw the chili pepper costume was on craigslist this morning for $6, I think. Crown it.

  6. carmen says:

    You are a trooper, Maris! Hang in there…hope you get some good insight from the book. And way to go on your sewing ambitions!
    P.S. Keep the blog posts coming. 🙂

  7. Amanda says:

    Hi Maris! It’s Amanda Beeler…not sure if you remember me or not…was out at K-State for a year and was in your bible study thru New Hope. Anywho, I stumbled across your blog and thought I’d offer something!

    I’m 8 months prego as of right now, and someone recommended a book for me too..The “No-Cry Sleep Solution.” Don’t know if that’s the book recommended to you or not, but thought it might help! Here’s the site for it: http://www.pantley.com/elizabeth/

Thoughts?

