I am a sucker for a great waffle or pancake. I like to make a big batch, eat my fill and then freeze the rest to take out and pop in the toaster for a tasty morning treat. As of late, I have been trying to healthify my morning breakfast options–meaning, I’m trying to stay way from dairy–butter, cheese, etc. I have come across a GREAT pancake recipe that will be my (dare I say) staple pancake recipe from here on out!

Thanks to Carterssjc from allrecipes.com, I have posted the recipe below for my new favorite pancake, with some slight modifications to “Maris-ify” the recipe. I have also posted the pic from allrecipes.com by the title, so you are convinced even more that you should try out this recipe with my mods! 🙂

Here we go:

Oatmeal and Wheat Flour Blueberry Pancakes
Serves: 8

INGREDIENTS

* 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
* 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
* 2 tablespoons brown sugar
* 2 tablespoons baking powder
* 3/4 teaspoon salt
* 1 1/2 cups quick cooking oats
* 2 cups soy milk
* 3 eggs, beaten
* 1/4 cup olive oil
* 1/2 cup frozen blueberries

DIRECTIONS

1. Preheat a lightly oiled griddle over medium heat.
2. In a large bowl, mix whole wheat flour, all-purpose flour, brown sugar, baking powder, and salt.
3. In a small bowl, mix oats and soy milk. Whisk in eggs and olive oil. Pour into the flour mixture all at once. Continue mixing until smooth. Gently fold in blueberries.
4. Pour batter about 1/4 cup at a time onto the prepared griddle. Cook 1 to 2 minutes, until bubbly. Flip, and continue cooking until lightly browned.

****IMPORTANT**** To Maris-ify this recipe, use the modifications below!

1. You can use one cup of whole wheat flour and cut out the white flour completely. In fact, if you have whole wheat pastry flour, that’s even better.
2. You can sub 1/4 cup canola oil if you don’t want to use olive oil.
3. Add 2 tbsp ground flaxseed. I have two coffee grinders at home. A good burr grinder for my coffee beans, and a cheap electric grinder for my spices and flaxseed!
4. Add 1/2 tsp almond extract and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract!
5. Be generous with the blueberries! You can also add a diced ripe banana when folding in the blueberries…so good!

There you have it. A healthy, stick-to-your-ribs pancake recipe that will knock your socks off. And put you back to sleep, which is what I did after I put Kate down for her morning nap. Did I mention it’s dairy-free?

Enjoy!

About marisd

I want to love well.

One response »

  1. Lindsey says:

    I'm totally trying this with my fresh blueberry bundle in the fridge. This looks AWESOME!

Thoughts?

