So Kate’s birthday was Friday! She is now a toddler.  I can’t believe it! No longer is she a little baby that is completely dependent upon me…that’s both a good and a bad thing, I think.  It’s so bittersweet! I hosted a party for her in our home this afternoon and it was soo fun!  We worked hard this week to get everything planned–the theme was Ladybugs!! I will be posting pics later, but something I really wanted to do for Kate was make her a tutu so she could prance around today like a little princess…I did it and she looked so cute!  I can’t believe how easy it was to make.  It took a little time, but it was worth it! I have pics below of how I made it…

I used two types of tulle (10 yards of the red and three yards of the white)–red and white to go with Kate’s ladybug theme…She was wearing a red top and black stretchy pants.

I then cut the tool into six inch strips (the tulle is doubled over to begin with).  I took a strip of 1-inch cloth elastic and measured the inside of  pair of Kate’s pants with it. I stapled the strip together to create the top waist-band of the tutu.

I then wrapped the strips one at a time around the elastic band and tied a knot at the base of the strip so that both sides of the tulle were hanging down.  I went around the elastic band with the red tulle and then went back with the white tulle over the red (one white knot per three red knots).  It created a nice layering effect!

It takes a while to get into a groove of tying the tulle around the elastic, but it’s not too bad:)

Here is the finished product!

More pics to come of Kate in the tutu!!

About marisd

I want to love well.

One response »

  1. Kelly says:

    I may very possibly make the adult version of this!

Thoughts?

