Kate and I have been enjoying Pandora online radio during the days when it’s too cold to play outside.

I usually have Elizabeth Mitchell (children’s station) on and we love all of the songs!  Mitchell is worth checking out, but there is one artist in particular that pops up on this station that has caught my ear.

Gillian Welch has been around for a long time and as I have further explored her music, I am drawn in to her sweet, mellow folk sound and contrasting sober and often dark lyrics.  The similarity to an artist like Elizabeth Mitchell is indicative of sound only, this being why Welch’s music pops up on the Pandora children’s music station.

Wikipedia says this about Welch’s music:

“Many songs performed by Welch and Rawlings contain dark themes about social outcasts struggling against such elements as poverty, drug addiction, death, a disconnection from their family, and an unresponsive God.[1] Despite Welch being the lead singer, several of these characters are male.[1] Welch has commented, “To be commercial, everybody wants happy love songs. People would flat-out ask me, ‘Don’t you have any happy love songs?’ Well, as a matter of fact, I don’t. I’ve got songs about orphans and morphine addicts.”[9] To reflect these themes, Welch and Rawlings often employ a slow pace to their songs. Their tempo is compared to a “slow heartbeat”, and Cowperthwait of Rolling Stone observed that their songs “can lull you into near-hypnosis and then make your jaw drop with one final revelation”.[1][59]

Still, I am drawn in. The tragedy her lyrics reflect highlights the need for hope in something greater than ourselves.

Here is one of my favorites, “Winter’s Come and Gone”.

About marisd

I want to love well.

One response »

  1. Angela says:

    Thanks for the tip on the children’s station. We listen to pandora, too. But, admittedly, it’s just for me. It’s my dancing time.

Thoughts?

