I have kind friends.

I have one kind friend in particular that I love from a distance and a social cyberspace nearness (I check her blog all the time), that I have been “memed” by.  What is memed, you ask? I’m not sure, but I think it means something like…wait, I just looked it up:

meme/mēm/Noun

1. An element of a culture or behavior that may be passed from one individual to another by nongenetic means, esp. imitation.
2. An image, video, etc. that is passed from one Internet user to another.
Was I the only one in the dark about this terminology? Did I skip out the day that they talked about this in cultural anthropology?? I digress.
So, I was memed by this kind friend and I think I will take a stab at the questions.  Bear with me.
If you can go back and relive one moment, what would it be?
Can I expand it to one “season” of my life? Maybe my freshman year of college.  I felt like a ball in a pinball machine being bounced all around and hit on all sides.  I think I needed someone to intervene.  That would be Jesus my sophomore year.
If you could go back in time and change one thing, what would it be?
My wardrobe for the last fifteen-ish years. I would take more risks reflective of who I really am or who over the past fifteen years I wanted to be.  And by risk, I don’t mean scandalous, I mean buying that shirt that I really liked but refraining because I wasn’t confident enough to wear it.  Maybe compare it to skinny jeans today or something, which I have a pair of now, so I am moving right along.
What movie or TV character do you most resemble in personality?
Pass.
What TV/movie character would you most like to be?
It took me a while to come up with this…Jodi Foster as Dr. Ellie Arroway in Contact. (Throwback!) She is intelligent and curious and driven by conviction, hope and faith.  She was in search of life beyond earth and she found it.  She stuck to her convictions and believed in what she experienced.  It is a movie worth watching.
Name one habit you would like to change about yourself.
I twirl my hair. Those who know me even remotely well probably know that I do that. Half the time I don’t even know that I am doing it. It’s like a childhood coping mechanism that I never grew out of.  And I think the act of twirling my hair releases endorphins (the feel-good chemicals) in my brain, so there is no hope of quitting; I only wonder about what other people think when I am doing it.
Describe yourself in one word.
Empathic.
Describe the person who named you in this meme in one word.
Lovely.
Why do you blog (answer in one sentence)?
I would like to think that people read it and are endeared to things going on in my life or are inspired to pass on tidbits of knowledge/information to others.
Name at least 3 people to send this meme to, and then inform them.
About marisd

I want to love well.

4 responses »

  1. literarywife says:

    Hooray! What a fun meme. Look for mine this week.

  2. Angela says:

    Maris! That was so fun to read about you! I may have scoffed when I read “pass.” 😉 It was hard, right?! I love what you said that you’d like to go back in time and change! I want to copy that answer on mine. I also have skinny jeans, er, jean leggings… I wore them to a girls thing last night and was told I was rocking them. I really wanted to go self-conscious about, i.e. “Don’t ask me about these. They might be leggings.” Cringe. As I’ve had to completely change out my wardrobe with weightloss, I’ve really tried to think about taking risks, buying what I feel like might better show my personality, spend the extra $ when it’s something I really love and feel good in. It’s a process, and I’m trying to let it be fun rather than shame-inducing…
    Loved the answers. Very entertaining. Thanks for the nice thoughts about me, too. I was thinking about y’all when I very badly wanted to make it to the Telluride Blue Grass Festival this summer. Let us know if y’all ever go again. I, apparently, had the idea WAY too late!

  3. Angela says:

    oh, and i had to look up “meme,” too…

  4. Mrs. Gumshoe says:

    I twirl my hair too! I can’t stop. I know it looks really silly-like when I’m in the car…
    Hope all is well!

Thoughts?

