I am so excited for summer nights…they are finally here.

We went camping on Sunday night for Memorial Day and it was an experience.  I think it was one of the windiest days of the year which prevented us from sleeping any that night.  For Kate’s first time camping, she did really well. She even managed to sleep some with 40+ mph winds flattening the side of our tent (I was watching her sleep as I was being battered by the tent poles bending in on me by the wind).

We were pretty ill-prepared for this experience, having not really thought about any bedding except for our bags and a small camping pillow–not sleeping on a pillow is highly uncomfortable. Kate also managed to split her eye open by running into the back of Ben’s truck bed. That was a doozy, poor thing. She’s a trooper and she didn’t have to get stitches.

What made it an experience to have again was the great company that came out with us and endured high winds, no sleep and ill-preparedness with us! I sure love our life group and new folks that are coming to it.  The wind never died down and in the morning we were battling it, but we enjoyed awesome biscuits and gravy (thanks Carrie!) as well as yummy pancakes, eggs and bacon.  And some really old Via instant coffee (which I don’t recommend).

I hope you all had a great Memorial Day weekend.  I think myself grateful for the men and women that have served and protected our country…and I am even more endeared to service men and women now that Ben’s youngest brother Daniel is going through bootcamp for the Navy Seals Diving Program. Go Daniel. We’re so proud of you.

About marisd

I want to love well.

2 responses »

  1. Liam says:

    Looks like loads of fun. Puts me in the mood to go camping. And you had the essential item…bacon! Good coffee is almost irrelevant because on a campout one should use the blue enamel percolator, which boils the coffee and makes it taste universally, but wonderfully, awful. Even better if there are some loose grounds in the coffee.

  2. Kelly says:

    Camping is always an experience–I, too, am no longer able to sleep anywhere.

    Chocolate milk and donuts were my childhood requirement with camping. Still an unhealthy incentive to camp it up as an adult…

Thoughts?

