Well, I got inspired and I’m actually going to do something about it.  I have been perusing some great blogs lately and came across this fun one called Make and Takes.

This lovely lady took a 7 days of her life and ate only a“raw food” diet.  She did it with a few friends which I am sure helped  her out during those last couple days of wondering, “I’m so tired of this…I don’t know what to eat…” 🙂 Reading through her blog post on this, I started thinking, if she can do this, I can too!

I have lots of reasons for going on this one-week food adventure:

-I am in “pre-training” for a half marathon in Wichita October 9 and I want to jump start a healthy diet to coincide with my training

-I want to consistently fuel my body with nutrient-dense food and see how it responds.

-I want to practice intentionality, discipline and self-control in my life and the area of food seems like one of most practical contexts for this.

-I enjoy fruits, veggies and healthy food in general so I see this as a great creative endeavor.

I am in day one and a half of my 95% raw food week.  I didn’t quite plan out at much as I would have liked what my daily meals would be, so my week will consist of really simple meals, not necessarily any recipes.  As I have been looking at various raw foodie blogs, I am blown away by the recipes and how delicious they look! So this week I want to incorporate some raw food recipes into my diet for the weeks beyond.

This week takes quite a bit of preparation and I have pretty much taken all of my questions and gathered prep info from The Best of Raw Food blog.  This blog has a great conversion chart which will highlight what you are probably eating in your normal diet and give you options for transitioning from those food items to raw food items.  How helpful to have this with me at the grocery store last night!

Here are some foods I bought to aid my experience (primarily organic):

Avocados, Strawberries, Raspberries, Blueberries, Peaches, Pears, Apples, Bananas, Apricots, Sprouts, Tomatoes, Cilantro, Romaine lettuce, Cabbage, Carrots, Celery, Baby Spinach, Ezekiel Bread, Ezekiel Tortillas, (both aforementioned are not completely raw, but great transitional breads), Chickpeas, Fresh Salsa, Mushrooms, Hummus, Zucchini, Cucumbers, Squash, Flax Seed, Raw Nuts (sunflower seeds, almonds, cashews), Raw Almond Butter, lots of LaraBars!

My food today: 

Breakfast: handful of raspberries, half a sliced banana, glob of raw almond butter, handful of blueberries, 20 oz glass of water

Lunch: Bed of spinach/romaine with one whole avacado cut up, four sliced fresh mushrooms, handful of baby carrots, glob of hummus with pine nuts, 1/3 cup fresh salsa, 20 0z glass of water

Snack: handful of raw cashews, Larabar, 20 oz glass of water

I will keep blogging about my experience throughout the week-ish…stay tuned!

 

One exception to all of this: I am s…l..o..w…l…y  weaning myself off of five cups of coffee a day.  Today I had two.  We’ll see how this goes.

About marisd

I want to love well.

6 responses »

  1. Angela says:

    Awesome! Go Maris! That sounds amazing! I would love to do a raw food week. And for all the same reasons you mention other than a 1/2 marathon o’ course. It seems so daunting, though. I’ll look forward to checking out that blog you mentioned. Cold food for a whole week sounds hard, but doing it the summer would be a lot easier. I’m cheering for you!

    • marisd says:

      Hey thanks Angela! I think it will be pretty easy in many ways… difficult as far as starving my sugar craving!!!

      • Kelly says:

        That’s always my problem, too. I love the sugars (cut to you and me cruising to Dairy Queen for a Blizzard).

        I’m trying to bust out of food rut so I may join you. I’m doing a 10 day detox (very little sugar, lots of veggies, less caffeine, more water and more walking).

        And way to go on the marathon! You’re a trooper.

      • marisd says:

        Do IT! 🙂 Then we can talk about it. But prepare to take lots of Beano.

  2. clbeyer says:

    I went mostly raw for a while in 2008. It taught me so much about food and how it makes me feel. I’d love to hear about your week! I hope the natural detox that happens doesn’t feel too crappy!

  3. Shelby says:

    Well done Mars! 🙂 Keep it up, you can do it!

Thoughts?

